Screen Reader Access Skip to Main Content Font Size   Increase Font size Normal Font Decrease Font size
Indian Railway main logo
Search :
Find us on Facebook   Find us on Twitter Find us on Youtube View Content in Hindi
National Emblem of India

About Us

Tenders & Suppliers Info

News & Recruitment

Public Information

Passenger Information

Contact Us

Bookmark Mail this page Print this page


A brief about the Division

Railways started in Nagpur way back in 1867 when portion of Bombay-Bhusaval-Nagpur line was opened for traffic.Today, Nagpur division has 988.336 routeKMs. consisting of 601.82 KMs Main Line, 352.096 KMs Branch Line and 34.42 KMs of Narrow Gauge, covering 115 stations across eight districts of Maharashtra and Madhya Pradesh. It has 11 tunnels and two major Ghat sections with ruling gradient of 1:60 (rising) and 1:65 (falling) in Itarsi-Nagpur Section. In addition, there are 35 sidings in the division having 176.912 km route length

Nagpur division has GT Route from Itarsi to Ballarshah (of 508 Kms length, fit for 120 Kmph speed) and Mumbai-Howrah route from Nagpur to Badnera.North-South and East-West traffic criss-crosses through the Division, making its Nagpur-Wardha section one of the busiest in Indian Railways. It has 3 branch lines connecting Amla-Chhindwara, Narkhed-Amravati & Majri-Pimpalkutti on Broad Gauge and Pulgaon-Arvi in Narrow Guage. 

Freight Traffic:

Major share of Originating Freight traffic comes from coal sidings located at Ghuggus, Ballarshah, Chandrapur, Wani, Majri, Umrer, Hirdagarh, Palachauri and Parasia. Loading of other commodities like cement, clinker, Iron and steel and DOC also contributes to freight traffic. Coal is the major commodity loaded by the division. Western Coalfields Limited (WCL) is the major contributor. Cement is loaded by ACC cement from Ghuggus. Ultratech and Ambuja Cement loads from the PFT located at PVIT.   Movement of coal rakes from South Eastern Coalfields to powerhouses of CR & WR and empties to SECR takes place. Within the division, coal is moved to Power houses of Chandrapur, Sarni, PWCL/Warora, PMEC/Chikni and MDIT/Tadali. Inland Container Depot is located at Ajni with major movement towards JNPT.

Highest Ever Loading of 28.899 MT during the period 2015-16

Division at a Glance

    Nagpur is a junction station, catering to North-South &East-West streams of traffic.  Jurisdiction extends from Badnera (excluding) to Nagpur; Wardha to Ballarshah (including) &and Nagpur to Jhujarpur/Itarsi (excluding, Majri to Pimpalkhuti & Narkher to Chandur Bazar.

(i) Passenger

Route KMs.(excluding sidings)


Track KMs.(excluding sidings)


(ii) Goods Traffic/Siding

Route KMs.(excluding sidings)


Track KMs.(excluding sidings)


(iii)  No. of stations (23 Closed for Commercial Activity)


(iv)  No. of staff

SS        -  18416

(v)  Average daily trains - Mail express + passengers


(vi)  Average daily trains – Goods (Nos.) (Runs / interchange)


(vii)  Originating Passengers per month (lacs)


(viii)  Real Estate

No. of Quarters

Land Holding ( in Hectares)

Land Covered by Service Building ( in Hectares)





Accounts Administration Electrical Engineering
Commercial Medical Mechanical Operating
 Personnel Signal & Telecom Safety Security

Source : Central Railway / Indian Railways Portal CMS Team Last Reviewed on: 27-04-2016  

  Admin Login | Site Map | Contact Us | RTI | Disclaimer | Terms & Conditions | Privacy Policy Valid CSS! Valid XHTML 1.0 Strict

© 2016  All Rights Reserved.

This is the Portal of Indian Railways, developed with an objective to enable a single window access to information and services being provided by the various Indian Railways entities. The content in this Portal is the result of a collaborative effort of various Indian Railways Entities and Departments Maintained by CRIS, Ministry of Railways, Government of India.